Wednesday May 23, 2012
Search
About
Zip Weather


Weather Forecast

 

Apr-15-2006 22:35printcomments

Watch Out For E-Mail Fraud Seeking Bank Info

Police say no legitimate agency will ever send you an unsolicited e-mail requesting your credit card numbers.


This is what opens when the link on the e-mail is clicked, this page makes no reference to being a Chase Internet address, instead a pizzeria...

(SALEM) - An e-mail from Chase Bank showing up in mid-valley electronic mailboxes at this time, is a bogus request to gain personal information. This is how it reads when arrives in a hotmail box: service@chase.com Chase Security Measures Notification Prof... This is the actual e-mail: Chase Bank Online. Department Notice You have received this E-mail because you or someone else had used your Account from different locations. For security purposes, we required to open an investigation on this matter. In order to safeguard your Account, we require you to confirm you Banking Details. We recently have discovered that multiple computers have attempted to log into your CHASE Bank Online Banking account, and multiple password failures were presented before the logons. We now require you to re-validate your account information to us. If this is not completed by April 25, 2006, we will be forced to suspend your account indefinitely, as it may have been used for fraudulent purposes. We thank you for your cooperation in this manner. Please Click Here or on the link below to re-validate your account information : http://www.chase.com/verification.asp Please note: If we do not receive the appropriate Account Verification within 48 hours , we will assume this Chase Bank Account is fraudulent and it will be suspended. The purpose of this Verification is to ensure that your Bank Account has not been fraudulently used and to combat fraud from our Community. This was possibly one of the easier e-mail scams to spot, interesting that they send things like this directly to the newsroom e-mail box. I thought "confirm you Banking Details" was half a clue at least. Then we noticed that when you click on: http://www.chase.com/verification.asp it actually opens a site with this e-mail address: http://www.pizzeria.garganoshop.com/catalog/images.html Then it asks you to list your Social Security number and credit card number and expiration date. Pizzeria? garganoshop? Doesn't sound like an e-mail that a bank would use. Police always tell you that any unsolicited source requesting your credit card info is a scam. The banks that issue them are careful, they have a risk in your credit card security also. If you receive this e-mail, notify your local police and above all, don't ever fall for it when someone askes for your personal and/or credit card information through an e-mail or phone call.



Related
| | |

Comments
Liz April 16, 2006 10:12 pm (Pacific time)

I recieved a email like this from US Bank.

[Return to Top]
View Most Commented on
Leave a comment on this story.
Name:

Enter the text from the image to confirm you are human.(Cookies are required)


HTML tags and certain characters are removed - (numbers, letters only or post may be cut short.) certain words are banned to stop spammers. All comments and messages are approved by people and self promotional links or unacceptable comments are denied.

©2011 Salem-News.com. All opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Salem-News.com.
Articles for April 14, 2006 | Articles for April 15, 2006 | Articles for April 16, 2006




Montes Coins & More



Since 1985, Salem Tattoo is one of the oldest and most established shops in Salem, in Oregon's Willamette Valley.

Donate to Salem-News.com and help us keep the news flowing! Thank you.

The Voice of Palestine