Sunday September 20, 2020
SNc Channels:



Nov-21-2010 16:57printcomments

Oregon State Wrestling Gets Two Wins, Tie In Missouri

Beavers logo

(COLUMBIA, Mo.) - The 17th-ranked Oregon State wrestling team traveled east to Columbia, Mo., on Sunday for a quad meet with host Missouri, Lindenwood and Hofstra.

The Beavers will be flying back to Corvallis after a big day at the quad meet, where Oregon State went 2-0-1, defeating No. 11 Missouri, rolling to a win over Lindenwood and coming from behind for a 19-19 tie with Hofstra.

“I’m very proud of our guys today,” head coach Jim Zalesky. “Competing against three teams obviously makes for a long day but they stuck with it and looked very good against a tough team in Missouri at the end. We had to come back for a tie against Hofstra, but they didn’t look back and picked up two key wins.”

Below is a recap of each of the three matchups.

Oregon State 19, Hofstra 19

The Beavers needed another late comeback to earn their second tie in as many matchups this season. Hofstra held a 19-6 lead after Ryan Patrovich earned a decision over Cody Weishoff at 174, but Brice Arand, Chad Hanke and Clayton Jack picked up a decision, fall and major decision, respectively, to get the 19-19 tie.

Ironically, head coach Zalesky went 13 years without a tie. In the first two meets of the 2010-11 season for the Beavers, they recorded two ties, including an 18-18 deadlock against No. 2 Boise State last week.

Hanke picked up his and the Beavers’ first fall of the 2010-11 season when he downed Hofstra’s Matt Loew 1:28 into his bout at 197-pounds.

The Pride picked up consecutive victories to start, going up 9-0, then watched as Garrett Drucker and Scott Sakaguchi earned consecutive decisions to come to within three. However, three consecutive wins by Hofstra put the Beavers down 13, necessitating the three wins to end the matchup.

Oregon State 45, Lindenwood 3

Oregon State was in command from the start of the match with Lindenwood, as five of the Beavers’ nine individual wins came via falls in the 42-point win.

Jason Lara, Kelly Kubec, Sakaguchi, Arand and Hanke all won via falls, with Hanke’s the quickest at 2:06. For each of the other four, it was their first of the year.

Lara and Kubec combined for consecutive falls to get the Beavers up 12-0 to start. Drucker added four points to the tally with a major decision over Derrick Weller, then saw Sakaguchi earn OSU’s third fall of the matchup.

Freshman Alex Elder won his first bout of the regular season, 11-6, over Clayton Macfarlane at 157 pounds. That gave OSU a 25-0 lead that was stretched to 29-0 when Jon Brascetta defeated Donald Woods, 11-2, for a major decision at 165.

Only Lindenwood’s Chris Chionuma was able to spoil OSU’s perfect match, winning via decision at 174. But after that win, Arand and Hanke combined for consecutive falls and Jack easily defeated Steven Butler, 15-3, for a major decision and final 45-3 tally.

Oregon State 19, Missouri 13

Perhaps the biggest matchup of the night occurred at the end where the 17th-ranked Beavers took on No. 11 Missouri, which hosted the quad meet.

Oregon State used key runs to pick up the 19-13 win.

Kubec and Mike Mangrum posted a major decision and decision, respectively, to get OSU out from a 3-0 deficit, and after Missouri won at 149, in overtime, to pull within one, 7-6, the Beavers battled and jumped past the Tigers in a big way.

Elder picked up a 9-3 decision over Dan Gonsor at 157, then watched as Brascetta defeated Zach Toal, 5-3, at the 165-pound weight class to push the Beavers to a 13-6 advantage.

Two bouts later, at 184, Arand picked up perhaps the most key win of the night, defeating Patrick Wright, 2-1, in overtime. That enabled Hanke to clinch the matchup with a 5-2 win over Mike Larson at the 197-pound bout.

Hanke’s win gave OSU an insurmountable 19-10 lead over Missouri, which saw Dominique Bradley win the heavyweight bout over Jack, 2-1. However, it was too little, too late in the Beavers’ 19-13 victory.

The two wins and tie puts Oregon State at 2-0-2 this season. The Beavers will attempt to win their third dual of the season Saturday when hosting Simon Fraser at legendary Gill Coliseum.

The dual marks Oregon State’s 2010-11 home opener and starts at 7 p.m. PT.


Oregon State 19, Hofstra 19
125 – Steve Bonnano (HOF) decision Jason Lara (OSU), 7-2. HOF 3-0
133 – Lou Ruggirello (HOF) fall Kelly Kubec (OSU), 0:37. HOF 9-0
141 – Garrett Drucker (OSU) decision Vicente Varela (HOF), 3-0. HOF 9-3
149 – Scott Sakaguchi (OSU) decision Justin Accordino (HOF), 1-0. HOF 9-6
157 – Zach Clemente (HOF) major decision Alex Elder (OSU), 12-3. HOF 13-6
165 – Paul Gillespie (HOF) decision Jon Brascetta (OSU), 8-2. HOF 16-6
174 – Ryan Patrovich (HOF) decision Cody Weishoff (OSU), 3-2. HOF 19-6
184 – Brice Arand (OSU) decision Ben Clymer (HOF), 6-1. HOF 19-9
197 – Chad Hanke (OSU) fall Matt Loew (HOF), 1:28. HOF 19-15
HWT – Clayton Jack (OSU) major decision Paul Snyder (HOF), 10-1. Tie 19-19

Oregon State 45, Lindenwood 3
125 – Jason Lara (OSU) fall Andrew McArthur (LIN), 3:45. OSU 6-0
133 – Kelly Kubec (OSU) fall Taylor Bolin (LIN), 2:48. OSU 12-0
141 – Garrett Drucker (OSU) major decision Derrick Weller (LIN), 15-6. OSU 16-0
149 – Scott Sakaguchi (OSU) fall Vince Hannon (LIN), 2:42. OSU 22-0
157 – Alex Elder (OSU) decision Clayton Macfarlane (LIN), 11-6. OSU 25-0
165 – Jon Brascetta (OSU) major decision Donald Woods (LIN), 11-2. OSU 29-0
174 – Chris Chionuma (LIN) decision Cody Weishoff (OSU), 10-5. OSU 29-3
184 – Brice Arand (OSU) fall Josh Miller (LIN), 2:54. OSU 35-3
197 – Chad Hanke (OSU) fall Darrell Risinger (LIN), 2:06. OSU 41-3
HWT – Clayton Jack (OSU) major decision Steven Butler (LIN), 15-3. OSU 45-3

Oregon State 19, Missouri 13
125 – Alan Waters (MU) decision Jason Lara (OSU), 3-2. MU 3-0
133 – Kelly Kubec (OSU) major decision Nathan McCormick (MU), 11-3. OSU 4-3
141 – Mike Mangrum (OSU) decision Todd Schavrien (MU), 5-4. OSU 7-3
149 – Kyle Bradley (MU) decision Scott Sakaguchi (OSU), 5-3 (OT). OSU 7-6
157 – Alex Elder (OSU) decision Dan Gonsor (MU), 9-3. OSU 10-6
165 – Jon Brascetta (OSU) decision Zach Toal (MU), 5-3. OSU 13-6
174 – Dorian Henderson (MU) major decision Cody Weishoff (OSU), 19-5. OSU 13-10
184 – Brice Arand (OSU) decision Patrick Wright (MU), 2-1 (OT). OSU 16-10
197 – Chad Hanke (OSU) decision Mike Larson (MU), 5-2. OSU 19-10
HWT – Dominique Bradley (MU) decision Clayton Jack (OSU), 2-1. OSU 19-13

Source: Oregon State University

Comments Leave a comment on this story.

All comments and messages are approved by people and self promotional links or unacceptable comments are denied.

[Return to Top]
©2020 All opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of

Articles for November 20, 2010 | Articles for November 21, 2010 | Articles for November 22, 2010
Special Section: Truth telling news about marijuana related issues and events.

The NAACP of the Willamette Valley


Your customers are looking: Advertise on!